Accessible Page Links

Page Tools

Main page Content


The Gap State High School was founded in July 1959 with the first students commencing in January 1960.  The school began with just one year level: Form 3 or Sub-Junior, the equivalent of year 9.

The Department of Education appointed Ronald George Petty, a University of Queensland graduate who had taught since 1923, as the first principal.  He was the first of seven principals:

  • Ronald Petty (1960 to 1963)
  • Tom Brady (1964 to 1967)
  • Jack Robertson (1968 to 1982)
  • Bob Rasmussen (1983 to 1988)
  • Bob Guthrie (1989 to 1999)
  • Regan Neumann (2000 to 2006)
  • Russell Pollock (2006 to 2017)
  • Anne McLauchlan (Principal 2017 to present)


In 1960 there were just seven teaching staff members appointed to The Gap State High School. 

In 2017 the staff of The Gap State High School includes a principal, three deputy principals, sixteen heads of department, a HOSES, a master teacher, a business services manager and over 200 teaching and non-teaching staff members.